New Board of Trustee chair elected

Scott Lebin, Board of Trustee chair

A financial planner and Upper Iowa University alumnus has been elected chair of UIU’s Board of Trustees. Scott Lebin ’64 is president and CEO of Lebin Financial Management, Inc., and Managed Economics for Doctors, Inc., in Geneva, Illinois. He replaces outgoing chair Dennis Murdock ’68. Lebin has served as a UIU board member since 2009.

After earning his bachelor’s degree at UIU, Lebin received a master’s degree from Northwestern University in 1969 and taught high school and directed high school, university, and semi-professional theatre for 21 years.  He and his wife, Dr. Barbara “Bobbi,” Lebin ’65 reside in Geneva.

“On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I would like to thank Dennis for his leadership role over the past six years,” Lebin said. “I look forward to working with Dennis and our other board members in continuing to implement short- and long-term strategic visions that ultimately benefit our students, faculty, staff and the entire UIU community.”

“Scott and Bobbi’s passion for UIU has always run deep,” UIU President Dr. William R. Duffy II added. “UIU’s students, faculty, staff and alumni will benefit from his strong leadership and commitment to the entire University.”

Working exclusively with high-net-worth individuals for the last 36 years, Lebin is a member of the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors and is also a Life and Qualifying member of the Million Dollar Roundtable. He holds a Register Financial Consultant designation and a Certified Wealth Strategist designation along with a designation as a Kolbe Specialist.

Lebin is involved in many activities, both nationally and locally. He received the UIU 2004 Alumni Award for community service and received the Geneva citizen of the year, Wood Award, in 2008. He has been serving as chairman of the Geneva Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors for 23 years. He is the past-president of the Geneva Lions Club International and current President of the Geneva Lions Foundation. He was also a member of the Board of Education of the Geneva School District, past president of the Illinois Theatre Association, a gold knight of the Million Dollar Round Table Foundation, and a Foundation Fellow of the Illinois Lion’s Foundation.

Additional members of the UIU Board of Trustees include Dennis Murdock ‘68, Marion, Iowa; Daniel J. Alfonso, Miami Lakes, Florida; Richard Andres, Medina, Minnesota; Nancy Betz ‘89, Des Moines, Iowa; Mary Cheddie ‘08, Miami, Florida; Peter Clemens, Hawthorn Woods, Illinois; William R. Cook ‘65, West Des Moines, Iowa; Josem Diaz, Peoria, Illinois; John R. Falb, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Steve Harms ‘73, West Des Moines, Iowa; Mike Prochaska ‘89, Stewartville, Minnesota; Angie Joseph ‘82, Yorktown, Virginia; Dr. Margaret Lawson ‘70, Winnetka, Illinois; Roger Mangan ‘62, Littleton, Colorado; Lowell Tiedt ‘71, Anamosa, Iowa; and Neil Wilkinson ‘00, Fairbank, Iowa. Emeritus trustees are Bernard Pattison, Fayette, Iowa; and Barry Smith, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

1 Comment on New Board of Trustee chair elected

  1. Stephen D. Regan // July 1, 2021 at 11:42 pm // Reply

    Please pass on my best to Scott and a thank you to Old Beta Theta Phi brother Dennis Murdock. This looks like a good board that will have UIU’s future in mind at all times.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: