UIU recognizes dedicated faculty and staff

President William R. Duffy is pictured with a few of the honorees following the recent Upper Iowa University Faculty and Staff Recognition Banquet. Among those attending the annual event were (seated, l-r) Kari Yauk, Carol Pfister, Carol Cushion, Samantha Hansel, Betty J. Whitesell, Erin Friedley, Denise Ney; (standing) President Duffy, Cynthia Waters, Roland Vazquez, Jackson Hayek, Cheryl Northrop, Jim Jacobs, Roman Yasinovskyy, Christopher Kragness, Jesse Pleggenkuhle, Marshall Whitlock, John Hanewall, Kara Guyer, James Tenney.

Longtime faculty and staff were recognized for their dedicated service to Upper Iowa University on Friday, May 6. Receiving special acknowledgement during the annual UIU Service Awards and Recognition Banquet held on the Fayette campus were the following retiring employees:

Carol Orr, associate director of library services, 46 years; Becky Wadian, director of library services, 42; Larry Bond, maintenance technician, 36; Mary White, assistant director of library services, 35; Cynthia Waters, professor of education, 15; Monica Bayer Heaton, associate vice president for communications and marketing, 7. Each of the retirees served from the Fayette campus.

Additional UIU faculty and staff recognized for significant service anniversaries during the annual event were:

40 Years of Service

David Wright, Fayette, custodian

25 Years of Service

Michael Manno, Des Moines, adjunct instructor of public administration

Judy Moser, Waterloo, adjunct instructor of education

Cheryl Northrop, Fayette, lecturer of mathematics

Kari Yauk, Fayette, veterans benefits specialist

20 Years of Service

Caryl Cushion, Fayette, admissions advisor

Jana Edwards, Des Moines, adjunct instructor of mathematics

James Henscheid, Des Moines, adjunct instructor of business

Kimberly King, Waterloo, adjunct instructor of psychology

Maureen McCarty, Prairie du Chien, adjunct instructor of psychology and sociology

Timothy Parker, Fayette, maintenance

Allen Ricks, Waterloo, adjunct instructor of philosophy and religion

Barbara Schultz, Fayette, assistant provost

Rachel Schultz, Fayette, financial aid processing specialist

Doris Weigel, Waterloo, adjunct instructor of psychology

Roxanne Whaley, Fort Riley, adjunct instructor of business

Over 140 additional UIU faculty/staff members were honored for achieving 5, 10, or 15 years of service to the University.

1 Comment on UIU recognizes dedicated faculty and staff

  1. Fritz Oppenlander // May 14, 2016 at 2:22 am // Reply

    Congratulations to everyone recognized for their years of service.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: