2015-2016 Student Government officers elected

The newly elected 2015-2016 Upper Iowa University Student Government Association officers are (l-r) treasurer Taylor Williams, president Aaron Calkins, secretary Madison Wilkin, academic extension officer Ty Johnson, vice president Sydney Cyzon.

A transfer student from Fond du Lac, Wis., has been elected the 2015-2016 Upper Iowa University Student Government Association (SGA) president. Aaron Calkins, a junior business administration major, previously served as class president at Clarke University in Dubuque.

“Upper Iowa is known for its global campus, so I knew the student government here could help create new ideas that would make a positive impact on the entire University and beyond,” said Calkins, while explaining why he ran for student government president.

The additional 2015-2016 Upper Iowa University SGA officers are as follows:

  • Vice president Sydney Cyzon, a senior biology major from De Pere, Wis.
  • Treasurer Taylor Williams, a senior mathematics, financial management and accounting major from New London, Wis.
  • Secretary Madison (Madie) Wilkin, a senior mathematics and financial management major from Center Point, Iowa.
  • Academic extension officer Ty Johnson, a junior finance and marketing major from Chaska, Minn.

Johnson noted that each of the officers want to develop SGA into a destination for students to get more involved in making a difference at UIU.

As an example, Cyzon reported among the potential projects is the formation of a UIU news broadcast that could eventually update the University community on what the Peacock family is doing around the world.

While encouraging fellow students to become active in the organization, Wilkin said, “As members of the student government you have the opportunity to build larger relationships with faculty, staff, and other students. You can then use those relationships to make a difference on campus.”

“And we can make a difference,” added Williams. “The administration and faculty continuously express their support, so we do have a say in what happens at UIU.”

“If you want to see change, become involved with student government,” Calkins agreed. “We have the full support of President (William) Duffy and Provost Kurt Wood. Everyone tells us that the sky’s the limit. They fully believe in us and look forward to us sharing our accomplishments with them.”

SGA public meetings are scheduled for Wednesdays, Oct. 7, Oct. 28, Nov. 18, Dec. 9, Jan. 20, Feb. 3, Feb. 17, March 16, March 30, April 13, April 27. All public meetings are held from 12:15 – 12:45 p.m. in the UIU Student Center Ballroom on the Fayette Campus. Agendas and any scheduling changes are emailed to students.

For additional information, contact studentgovernment@uiu.edu.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: