Student athletes score in the classroom

Eighty-four Peacock student-athletes earned recognition on the NSIC (Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference) All-Academic Team following the fall, winter and spring sports seasons. Meanwhile, six UIU men’s soccer players were named to the MIAA (Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics) Conference Academic Honor Roll.

To be eligible for these honors, the student-athletes are required to be a member of the varsity traveling team and have a 3.20 cumulative grade point average (GPA) or higher for the NSIC, or a 3.00 GPA or higher for the MIAA. Furthermore, the athlete must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at his or her institution, and must have completed at least one full academic year at the same institution.

In addition, this past winter the Upper Iowa University Athletics Department recognized 216 student-athletes who earned a spot on the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll.  To earn consideration for the UIU Athletic Director’s Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have earned a minimum 3.20 grade point average during the 2014 fall semester.

The women’s basketball team earned the highest overall team GPA (3.742), while the men’s golf team posted the highest male team career GPA (3.334).

The UIU Athletics Department also launched a new honor for student-athletes this year by assembling a 14-member President’s Team. The award recognizes the male and female athletes with the highest cumulative GPA of their respective teams.  He or she must have completed at least two academic semesters of coursework in their degree program to be eligible for this newly established honor.

The Peacocks honored for excelling in the classroom and being named to the inaugural President’s Team were Billy Auer (men’s golf), Sawyer Bawek (baseball), Sarah Benson (women’s basketball), Jessie Big Knife (men’s basketball), Kaitlyn Emanuel (women’s soccer), Courtney Fullmer (women’s cross-country), Kelly Jachymowski (tennis), Ty Johnson (men’s soccer), Riley Kruel (softball), Carmen Lezpona (women’s golf), Derek Olson (football), Yu Heng Isaac Tan (cheer), Josh Tyler (wrestling) and Amanda Weiss (volleyball).


Leave a Reply